Pastor Nominating Committee

Pastor Nominating Committee (PNC) Update (November 30, 2020)

The Pastor Nominating Committee (PNC) continues to work with the Vanderbloemen Group in the search for our next pastor.  We are in regular communication with them as we review and consider potential candidates.   We were told early on that filling this position would be a challenge and that the pool of potential candidates for Solo-Pastor in a small town would be limited.  That has proven to be true.  As you can imagine, the current pandemic situation has served to increase the challenges that we face.  Rest assured the God has already selected the person who will serve as our next pastor.  Our prayer is that He will reveal His choice to us in His time, hopefully soon. 

22 He reveals deep and hidden things; he knows what lies in darkness, and light dwells with him.  Daniel 2:22 (NIV)

6 “I have revealed you to those whom you gave me out of the world. They were yours; you gave them to me and they have obeyed your word.  John 17:6 (NIV)

The PNC covets your prayers as we continue the work that you have entrusted to us. 

Pastor Nominating Committee (PNC) Update (August 18, 2020)

The Pastor Nominating Committee (PNC) has a meeting scheduled with Vanderbloemen, our search firm, on Sunday, August 23rd. At this meeting we will be presented with some potential candidates that have been vetted as a “good fit” for our church.

At that point any candidates of interest to the committee will be scheduled for initial video interviews. Please keep the PNC in your prayers as we move forward with the work that you have entrusted to us. We pray that God quickly reveals to us the Pastor that he has selected to lead First Presbyterian Church of South Boston into the future.

Pastor Nominating Committee (PNC) Update (July 22, 2020)

On July 5th, the Pastor Nominating Committee (PNC) had an update meeting with our account executive, Jay Mitchell, from the Vanderbloemen search group. Jay shared the progress that has been made so far in the search process. To date they have registered a total of 593 website visits for our job posting. The search team has identified 8 candidates that may potentially be of interest. Additionally, they have reached out to another 59 candidates through their networking contacts. This list of potential candidates is being screened and vetted with the goal of presenting the PNC with a list of 3 to 5 “good fit”
candidates for us to review at our next meeting in August. At that point we will begin to
schedule initial video interviews with those that have been identified.
Please keep the PNC in your prayers as we continue the work that you have entrusted to us. Pray that Gods reveals to us the next Pastor that he has selected to lead us into the future.

Pastor Nominating Committee (PNC) Update (June 12, 2020)

Your Pastor Nominating Committee (PNC) has been hard at work in the search process for the next leader for our congregation. Over the past few months, we have reviewed over 70 resumes and still have not found a suitable candidate that is available. It has become clear to us why this process takes so long. In light of this realization, we requested and received approval from the Session to engage an executive search firm that specializes is church staffing. The Company’s name is Vanderbloemen based in Houston, Texas.

Click here to view our job posting on the Vanderbloemen website.

Pastor Nominating Committee (PNC) Update (March 27, 2020)

I want to take a moment to update everyone on the progress of the PNC. (We have had to learn the meaning of many acronyms!) Since we were elected by the congregation, we have been hard at work following the process as outlined by the PCUSA. We began with the first of two two-hour training sessions conducted by representatives of the Presbytery Committee on Ministry (COM). This training concentrated on organizing the PNC and instructions on completion of the Ministry Information Form (MIF), which is like a resume for our church. We were told that this process usually takes an average of 6 to 8 weeks to complete.
Training complete, we went to work on putting together our MIF. This document includes information about the church (membership, attendance, demographics, etc.), answers to four narrative questions, leadership competencies desired for new pastor, salary and job description. Once the MIF is complete, we had to present it to the Session for approval and upload the MIF to the PCUSA Church Leadership Connection (CLC) System where it is approved by the Presbytery and released to begin the matching process. We completed this work in record time, just over two weeks!
The next step will be the second two-hour training session which will cover to procedure for reviewing Pastor Information Forms (PIF), pastor resumes. Given the challenges that we are facing due to the current health crisis, we will have to be “creative” to complete this step. We have already begun screening some PIF’s. This will be a long and detailed exercise as we evaluate potentially hundreds of resumes to identify our next pastor. We covet your prayers as we continue the work that you have entrusted to our committee.

Grace and peace, Don Cherry, PNC Chairman

On March 1, 2020 a Congregational Meeting was held to elect a Pastor Nominating Committee (PNC).

The members elected were: Sterling Byrd-Roberts, Richard (Rick) Harrell, Joni Owens, Colter Wickemeyer and Donald (Don) Cherry.

The pastor nominating committee (PNC), representative of the whole congregation and elected by the congregation, has the ultimate responsibility for nominating a minister to the congregation for election as the next pastor or associate pastor. Over a number of months, the PNC will journey through the pastoral search process, seeking to hear the call of Christ and “to participate in God’s own choice” for our next pastor.